HSDPA UE categories and data rates

- an overview or summary of the HSDPA UE categories, their definitions and details including the HSDPA data rates.

The 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) has divided HSDPA UEs or mobile terminals into twelve categories. These HSDPA categories define the different characteristics including different HSDPA data rates.

These HSDPA categories are needed to cater for a number of implementations of the HSDPA standard. This allows for different levels of performance to be implemented including the maximum HSDPA data rate. The characteristics of the UE can then be easily communicated to the network which can then communicate with the UE in a suitable manner. Accordingly these HSDPA categories are widely used.

HSDPA category definitions

The different HSDPA categories are outlined inth e table below. From this it can be sent hat the overall raw data rate and hence the category is determined by a number of elements including the maximum number of HS-DSCH codes, TTI, block size, etc.

HS-DSCH category Max No of HS-DSCH codes Min inter-TTI interval HSDPA data rate (Mbps) Transport block size Max no soft bits Supported mod schemes
1 5 3 3.6 7298 19200 16QAM, QPSK
2 5 3 3.6 7298 28800 16QAM, QPSK
3 5 2 3.6 7298 28800 16QAM, QPSK
4 5 2 3.6 7298 38400 16QAM, QPSK
5 5 1 3.6 7298 57600 16QAM, QPSK
6 5 1 3.6 7298 67200 16QAM, QPSK
7 10 1 7.2 14411 115200 16QAM, QPSK
8 10 1 7.2 14411 134400 16QAM, QPSK
9 15 1 10.1 20251 172800 16QAM, QPSK
10 15 1 14 27952 172800 16QAM, QPSK
11 5 2 1.8 3630 14400 QPSK
12 5 1 1.8 3630 28800 QPSK

Additional information about the HSDPA categories and HSDPA data rates table:

  • The maximum number of HS-DSCH codes is the number of multiplexed codes on the high-speed physical downlink shared channel (HS-PDSCH) that receive data.
  • The minimum transmission time interval (TTI) is the time interval allocated to the mobile terminal for receiving data. There is a balance between a short TTI for providing adaptivity and while keeping the overhead to a minimum.
  • The maximum buffer size for hybrid automatic repeat request (H-ARQ) is determined considering signals received prior to resend and resent signals; it is the maximum number of bits in the receive buffer after demodulation.
  • Categories 1-10 support 16QAM (16 quadrature amplitude modulation) as well as QPSK (quadrature phase shift keying). Categories 11 and 12 only support QPSK.

By Ian Poole

<< Previous   |   Next >>

Share this page

Want more like this? Register for our newsletter

Securing the future of IoT | Rutronik
Securing the future of IoT
Co-authored by Bernd Hantsche, Head of the GDPR Team of Excellence and Marketing Director Embedded & Wireless and Richard Ward, ‎Semiconductor Marketing Manager at Rutronik.

Radio-Electronics.com is operated and owned by Adrio Communications Ltd and edited by Ian Poole. All information is © Adrio Communications Ltd and may not be copied except for individual personal use. This includes copying material in whatever form into website pages. While every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of the information on Radio-Electronics.com, no liability is accepted for any consequences of using it. This site uses cookies. By using this site, these terms including the use of cookies are accepted. More explanation can be found in our Privacy Policy